The EU issues the fifth round of sanctions designations against Belarus - in close coordination with the US

In a coordinated move, both the EU and US have issued further sanctions against Belarus today, 2 December, 2021.

The EU's fifth round of sanctions designations "over continued human rights abuses and the instrumentalization of migrants" targets 17 individuals and 11 entities. Somewhat unexpectedly, the list includes two major Belarusian chemical & oil companies, Grodno Azot and Belorusneft, as previously it was announced that the designations will only target perpetrators of the migrant crisis at the EU external border. 

The EU designations mean that the assets of the targets in Europe have to be frozen as of today and European companies and citizens are not allowed to do business with them. In addition, the designated individuals will be banned from entry in the territory of the EU. 

Simultaneously, the US also announced the inclusion of 20 individuals and 11 entities in the OFAC's Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons list (SDN list). In conjunction with the designations, the US has also issued General License 5, authorizing the wind down of transactions involving certain targeted companies until 1 April, 2022.

For further information on the individuals and entities designated by the EU and the US, you may consult the EU and US lists.